top of page
Search
  • giovanim7

Week 4 - Freedom!

Finally, after two weeks of quarantine, I am free to start my exchange Semester at the City University of Hong Kong!


Adventures!

Along with my studies, these past two weeks have been filled with adventures in Hong Kong's city, diners, nature, and tourist attractions. In quarantine, I couldn't really tell I was in Hong Kong because I was trapped in a quarantine room. However, When I finally left the hotel, the sheer amount of buildings surrounding me let me know I had finally arrived. To illustrate, It's common to see like 10 of the same exact building... which is just crazy to see in real life!



After settling into my Mongkok apartment (Yesin serviced apartments), I decided to go hiking at High West. The view was incredible. However, note to self, next time I hike I will take more water with me... Hong Kong is very humid. Luckily, we ended our hike at "sandy beach"... which oddly enough wasn't sandy at all.



My next adventure was viewing the Hong Kong symphony of lights show. Which is a coordinated light show from various buildings in Central Hong Kong. After the light show, my European friends and I went on a ferry cruise. From here, we visited the pop-up meme museum hosted by 9-gag. The museum was free when we downloaded their app.




In terms of food... Hong Kong has a very diverse pallet. You can see all kinds of diners here including Japanese, Thai, Indian, Western, and of course Chinese cuisine. Some of my new favorite foods include dim sum, dragon fruit, moon cake, and Indian-style chicken curry.


I also got the opportunity to explore various parts of Hong Kongs "Lantau Island". This includes their famous cable carts, their gigantic buddha statue (sadly it was under construction), and the Po Lin monastery. The monastery was definitely the highlight of Lantau island. The temple's intricate details were jaw-dropping.



Studies

Now onto my studies! Classes in Hong Kong are a bit different from Hawaii. First off, classes are 3 hours each and you typically meet once a week. I would highly recommend bringing water and snacks to avoid being drained by the end of class. Luckily, professors typically give 2, 10-minute breaks during class.


Also, all of my business courses are based on group assignments. I would highly recommend grouping up with both locals and exchange students. Grouping with locals has given me insights into my professors, the Cantonese language, and other tips that will help me succeed living abroad. Teaming with exchange students allows you to expand your network of friends.





23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page