top of page
Search
  • giovanim7

Week 8 - Meeting new people & Midterms

Updated: Nov 27, 2021

Hey guys, for week 8, I will be focusing on meeting new people, midterms, and updating you on some recent experiences in Hong Kong.


Meeting New People

In the first week of School, CityU holds an orientation filled with various activities for both local and international students. I would highly recommend attending these events and introducing yourself to students and finding your friend group! Don't be shy, everyone else is also trying to meet new people and go on adventures together!


CityU also has various sports teams that you can apply and join! I personally joined their Swimming Team and it's a great way to meet local students!


I would also recommend downloading Whatsapp and finding an exchange student group chat. The group chat I joined was formed during our orientation meetings and has nearly 258 members. From here, students will create various group chats based on shared interests. For example, there is a dungeon and dragons group chat, scuba diving group chat, hiking group chat, partying group chat, gym group chat, ETC!! Don't be afraid to be bold and set up an activity, people will appreciate it (I think everyone wants to go out but they may be scared to send/set up a hangout over WhatsApp).


Here are some hangout ideas"

Finally, there are tons of student societies and groups within CityU which can be found here. I personally did not join any societies. However, other exchange students highly recommended the CityU investment club for individuals interested in the financial industry.


Midterms

For midterms, I sacrificed a week to solely focus on studying. I feel like this can be a bit challenging when most of the other exchange students do not really care for their grades. However, don't forget the initial reason why you decided to study abroad. Most of my professors gave me a good idea of what would be on the midterm and which sections I should study for. To illustrate, my EF4321 - Derivatives and Risk Management class had various practice problems and the professor also ranked the class material (ex: powerpoints, assignments) in regards to how important they were towards studying for the midterm exam.


More Adventures

This week I discovered some of my new favorite foods. This includes DAN DAN Noodles with wontons, TamJai SamGoi (a must-try), and abalone (hella expensive).



We also traveled to Sharpe Island. To get to this island first you need to go to Sai Kung via the MTR. From here, you take a ferry onto Sharpe Island and hike to the beach. The water was extremely clear and the ferry pier is filled with delicious seafood restaurants.






22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page